22.5ft Complete restoration...

Discussion in 'Check Out My Boat' started by tamezjos, Sep 9, 2008.

Share This Page

1. tamezjos

Hey guys, I've been working on my boat for the last 16 months... I've been so busy that i have put off starting my thread for the longest time. I will update the thread as fast as I can so I can bring it up to where I am currently. I have thousands of photos, I'll try to post the most relevant to show the progress. If you would like to see more detail on something, just ask.

Here goes.... I bought this 1980 cuddy cabin in back in 2001... Not knowing what I was getting my self into, being this my first boat, I thought I'll have this puppy ready in no-time... Boy was I wrong.... When I purchased the boat I bought a ton of books about boat construction, fiberglass repair, the works. The boat had no floor when I bough it, and the liner was soft, as the main foam compartments (flotation) had water in them. I cut big holes in them (16"x48"), and took out about 15 gallons of water. Dried everything and glassed everything up. It took me about 6 weeks to complete. I thought this was the biggest thing repair-wise. I was wrong. Back in that time I ran out of money and stopped the project.

In 2007 I decided to buy a new boat, but that didn't happen, I was so excited about getting a boat that I decided I would continue with the old project. So in May 8 2007 I started this endeavor. I have not worked so hard for a personal project, or for so long as this one. I hope you enjoy it.

First step: Rebuild the Trailer, basically replaced everything but the main-frame which was reinforced with plates as it was needed. Used Tiedown's Vented Rotor Disc Brake Kit. Trailer had no VIN, so it was taken to DMV to receive its number.

I will update this thread, projects to follow:
    (* fiberglass work, most times I built a mold for each item. All fiberglass work was finished with gelcoat. ALL THIS PROJECTS ARE ALREADY DONE)

*Wood Deck